Opinion: the Sony a7 III could be the new Nikon D750

Opinion: the Sony a7 III could be the new Nikon D750
ФОТО: dpreview.com

For the past few years, I've been recommending the Nikon D750 to enthusiasts and semi-professionals needing a reliable DSLR to grow in to – probably more than any other ILC on the market. It was even my Gear of the Year in 2015 for its excellent feature set to price ratio.

Though it debuted in late 2014, the D750 remains a relevant and reliable workhorse years later. 24MP of resolution on a full frame sensor is a sweet spot for a lot of shooters, and the D750 still offers competitive dynamic range and excellent high ISO performance. It also has terrific autofocus, with Nikon's reliable 3D Tracking.

The D750 has proven to be among the most future-proof full frame DSLRs in recent memory

And as far as full frame DSLRs go, it's among the lightest ever made. But it's also a camera we know will likely stand the test of time thanks to aggressive weather-sealing and sturdy construction. In short, the D750 has proven to be among the most future-proof full frame DSLRs in recent memory. Even today it's still priced aggressively enough – with technology that is relevant – to warrant my recommendation, not to mention the recommendation of the DPReview staff in our Best Camera Under $2000 roundup.

Time for a new recommendation?

I swapped out my Nikon D750 to shoot a show with the Sony a7 III: the combination of excellent AF coverage and good low light IQ left me questioning whether it's time to recommend this Sony over the Nikon I've come to love.
ISO 12800 | 1/400 sec | F4 | Shot on Sony FE 35mm F1. 4 ZA | Edited to taste in ACR

But like all of us, the D750 is starting to show its age. Though it offers an articulating LCD (a Nikon full frame first), the live view experience is just plain unrefined when compared to a modern mirrorless camera. This is because the D750 relies on Contrast Detect AF in live view, which is painfully slow and often misses.

Though the 51-point AF system performs admirably, even in low light, it only covers the central potion of the frame, limiting compositional freedom when using 3D Tracking. And though the D750 offers decent-looking 1080/60p video, the lack of continuous AF in video limits its use. Plus the lack of 4K makes the camera's video spec feel dated.

The a7 III just might be my go-to recommendation moving forward

If only a camera matched or surpassed what the D750 is capable of, all for a similar cost! Enter the Sony a7 III. Its debut price is a couple hundred dollars less than that of the Nikon and as of this writing it can be had for just a few hundred dollars more than the now heavily discounted D750 (new). As a result, the a7 III just might be my go-to recommendation moving forward.

On paper, it has all the ingredients to make it a relevant camera for years to come. This includes a 24MP Full Frame sensor, high-quality stabilized 4K video (with AF-C), AF points covering 93% of the frame with reliable subject tracking and Eye AF, solid battery life, a small form factor and good build quality. Plus, every lens you put on it – even adapted ones – automatically becomes stabilized thanks to its 5-axis IBIS system (rated at 5 stops).

Sony a7 III, on paper vs in use

AF performance from the a7 III is excellent, even in challenging light.
ISO 12800 | 1/400 sec | F2. 8 | Shot on Sony FE 35mm F1. 4 ZA | Edited to taste in ACR

Of course specs are one thing and in the field operation is another – something a few readers occasionally forget. That said, I’ve been really impressed by how refined this recent generation of Sony full frame cameras are – the Sony a9 was even my 2017 Gear of the Year. And thankfully one evening spent shooting live music with the a7 III proved that it largely operates like its $4500 high-speed sibling.

The a7 III's lock-on AF is reassuringly effective at tracking a subject and nailing focus in low light, just like the D750's 3D Tracking. The main difference? The AF point coverage is significantly greater on the Sony, giving me far more room to place my subject in the frame. On the downside, it’s nearly impossible to see what AF point you’ve selected on a Sony when shooting in the dark (or even in daylight) because the AF area does not illuminate when moved with the joystick. To work around this, I left my initial medium lock-on point dead center and began each new acquisition with my subject in the middle of the frame.

One evening spent shooting live music with the a7 III proved that it largely operates like its $4500 high speed sibling

Image quality also impressed me – I was pleased with the Raw files I came back with and was able to make some nice edits despite the high ISO nature of my shots. But don't take my word alone, have a look at our studio scene, which proves both cameras (a7 III and D750) perform exceptionally in low light. The a7 III's shadows are actually cleaner at high ISO, thanks to its higher dynamic range at ISOs above 500.

The live view experience using the LCD, by the very nature of mirrorless, was also refreshing. Unlike the D750, AF works the same when using the LCD or EVF. This meant I could actually use the LCD to get shots without having to worry about missed focus.

And while I didn't make use of the camera's silent shooting mode, it's something I could certainly see appealing to wedding or event shooters. Same goes for the a7 III's over-sampled 4K video; though I didn't put it to use at the show, the footage I've seen from fellow editors proves it's both extremely detailed and offers high dynamic range with minimal rolling shutter.

Normally I micro adjust lenses before a shoot. With the a7 III there's no need.
ISO 12800 | 1/400 sec | F2 | Shot on Sony FE 85mm F1. 8 | Edited to taste in ACR

Lingering hesitations

Despite my largely positive shooting experience with the camera, I still have a few hesitations about it: First, there is a perceivable lag when turning dials on the a7 III (and other Sony cameras for that matter), something that is not the case with other DSLRs at this price point. I also find the EVF can take a fraction of a second to engage when one’s eye is brought to the finder. This sounds like nitpicking, but those used to an optical EVF might find they miss shots, as I did, due to this. Other annoyances include the occasional operation error.

The lack of weather-sealing on the battery door concerns me when it comes to the longevity of this camera

Fortunately, all of those concerns can likely be addressed via firmware. But something that can't be fixed so easily is the lack of weather-sealing on the battery door, which concerns me when it comes to the longevity of this camera – I'd hate to recommend a product that might fail due to a little water. Adding to my concerns, our pals over at Imaging Resource ran a sort-of-scientific test looking at the weather sealing on high-end cameras, including the a7R III. The results were, to put it lightly, not encouraging for Sony cameras.

Another hesitation in recommending the well-priced a7 III is the present lack of well-priced autofocusing glass available for it. One major reason I like to point folks to the D750, especially those on a budget, is due to the enormous catalog of autofocusing lenses offered for the system at varying prices. With Sony full frame, most AF lenses are pricey, large and the selection is currently limited. But it's encouraging to see third party lens manufacturers like Sigma, Tamron and Tokina getting into the FE game.

The Takeaway

The a7 III is a lot of camera for the money and will likely be a technologically relevant product for quite some time – if Sony's a6000-series is any indication, the a7 III will have a long and fruitful product life, with price breaks every so often for years to come. My few hesitations aside, I feel that the a7 III gets enough right for the right price to almost certainly be my new go-to full frame recommendation moving forward.

That said, I'm going to hold off making any serious recommendations until our full technical review – to be published soon – goes live.

.

iii sony d750 frame

2018-4-15 16:00

iii sony → Результатов: 96 / iii sony - фото


Фото: dpreview.com

Sony a7 III Review

Read our overall conclusion Despite its billing as a 'basic' model, the Sony a7 III is a supremely capable full frame camera. Though it doesn't have the most megapixels or shoot the fastest bursts, its well-judged mix of resolution, speed, features and price point make it an easy recommendation for all kinds of photographers and all kinds of photography. dpreview.com »

2018-04-23 16:57

This is the Speed of the Sony a7 III

Here’s a short video by Camera Creativ that demonstrates the high-speed continuous shooting of the new Sony a7 III, a full frame mirrorless camera that costs $2,000. Like the $3,200 Sony a7R III, the a7 III has a burst speed of up to 10 frames per second for both RAW and JPEG photos. But the […] petapixel.com »

2018-03-22 18:37

Фото: dpreview.com

Hands-on with the Sony a7 III

Hands-on with the Sony a7 III Last week Sony introduced its newest mirrorless camera, the a7 III, at an event in Las Vegas. Sony is positioning the a7 III as the 'basic model' in its line of full frame cameras, alongside the a7R III ('ultimate resolution') and a9 ('ultimate performance') models. dpreview.com »

2018-03-06 18:37

Sony a7 III sample gallery

$(document). ready(function() { SampleGalleryV2({"containerId":"embeddedSampleGallery_6769434587","galleryId":"6769434587","isEmbeddedWidget":true,"selectedImageIndex":0,"isMobile":false}) }); Sony's much-anticipated a7 III full-frame mirrorless camera is built around a 24MP BSI sensor, and includes many of the features and improvements found in the company's a7R III and a9. dpreview.com »

2018-02-27 15:03

Обзор камеры Sony A7r mark III от Павла Молчанова

Здравствуйте, уважаемые читатели! Меня зовут Молчанов Павел, я коммерческий фотограф, член Гильдии рекламных фотографов России, Ассоциации профессиональных фотографов Европы, бренд амбасадор HENSEL в России. photar.ru »

2018-02-26 10:36

Sony A7 III и A6000 Mark II

Согласно последним слухам, Sony собирается анонсировать камеру Sony A7 III. Таким образом, возможно, в следующем месяце мы увидим новую камеру от Sony. Слухи утверждали, что следующая камера серии Sony A7 будет уменьшенной Sony A9. photar.ru »

2018-02-25 10:27

Сравнение Sony a7R III, Nikon D850 и Canon 5D IV

У них есть свои плюсы и минусы, но все камеры “совершенно замечательные” и ошибиться, выбрав одну из них, невозможно. Хотите увидеть сравнение трех популярных полнокадровых камер? В этом 20-минутном видео Дэн и Салли Уотсон (основатели сайта LearningCameras и YouTube-канала Dan Watson) тестируют Sony a7R III, Nikon D850 и Canon 5D Mark IV и рассказывают об […] fototips.ru »

2018-02-20 09:25

Sony a7R III Training Tutorial by Tony Northrup

  TABLE OF CONTENTS: 00:34 A7RIII Manual 00:48 USB Charging 01:18 Battery 01:43 Memory Card Configuration 05:08 Choosing Memory Cards 05:57 You Saved My Butt 06:00 Buy Cheap SD Cards 06:44 Ports 07:39 Taking a Picture 09:02 Diopter 09:44 Raw Compressed 11:18 Back-Button Focus 14:06 APS-C Super 35 17:10 Focus Magnifier 18:12 Reviewing A Picture […] The post Sony a7R III Training Tutorial by Tony Northrup appeared first on sonyalpharumors. sonyalpharumors.com »

2018-02-04 15:51

Батарейный блок Meike для Sony A9 и a7R III с беспроводным пультом

Gроизводитель аксессуаров Meike выпустил новую рукоятку с батарейным блоком и беспроводным пультом для камер Sony a9 и a7R III. Блок может вместить две батареи. Meike MK-A9 позволит выполнять съёмку в вертикальной ориентации, добавляя дублирующую кнопку спуска затвора, две пользовательские кнопки, кнопку AF, джойстик и два колеса управления, а также свою собственную кнопку включения/выключения. Также в […] photar.ru »

2018-01-20 14:01

Динамический диапазон Sony A7R III в режиме Pixel-Shift

Режим Pixel-Shift реализовывался многими компаниями, но почему-то Sony A7R III привлекла внимание общественности своим подходом к этой технологии. Камера не умеет собирать сделанные со смещением снимки самостоятельно. photar.ru »

2017-12-18 16:00

Магазин отправляет покупателям две камеры Sony a7R III вместо одной

Известный американский магазин фототехники B&H многим покупателям камеры ценой $3200 по ошибке отправил не один экземпляр, а два. prophotos.ru »

2017-12-08 12:20

Сколько набрала Sony a7R III на DxOMark

Лаборатория DxOMark протестировала камеру Sony a7R III и присудила ей звание самой лучшей беззеркалки со счётом в 100 баллов. Это наивысший балл, набранный беззеркальной камерой. Если не считать среднеформатные камеры, то новинка от Sony сравнялась с зеркалкой Nikon D850 и делит с ней первое место. photar.ru »

2017-11-29 14:46

Фото: onfoto.ru

Sony a7R III вошла в десятку лучших гаджетов года по версии журнала TIME

Полнокадровая беззеркальная камера Sony a7R III, представленная в октябре, была выбрана журналомTIMEв качествеодного из 10 лучших гаджетов 2017. a7R III стала единственной камерой в списке и заняла 10 место. onfoto.ru »

2017-11-24 18:39

Тестирование сдвига пикселей в Sony a7R III

Новый Sony a7R III имеет функцию Pixel Shift (Сдвиг пикселей). Эта функция увеличивает разрешение изображений в 4 раза. Камера создаёт 4 фотографии, сдвигая между каждым кадром датчик на 1 пиксель. photar.ru »

2017-11-21 15:11

Фото: dpreview.com

Sony a7R III added to studio scene comparison

We've had our hands on the Sony a7R III for about a week now, and the camera has quickly impressed our reviewers both in the studio and on the road. Currently, a couple of our staffers are traipsing around Arizona capturing beautiful photos we'll soon be adding to our a7R III sample gallery, but back in Seattle we wasted no time putting the camera in front of our standard studio test scene. dpreview.com »

2017-11-17 16:00

Sony a7R III не “ест” звезды

В новой камере Sony решила проблему, которая больше года беспокоила астрофотографов. Самые современные беззеркальные камеры Sony получили невероятные характеристики и восторженные отзывы большинства пользователей. fototips.ru »

2017-11-15 18:11

Sony a7R III больше не ест звёзды

Последние беззеркальные камеры Sony имеют невероятные характеристики и очень хорошие отзывы, но астрофотографы жалуются на то, что камеры едят звёзды. Камера ошибочно принимает звёзды за шум и удаляет их из фотографий с длинной выдержкой. mx-camera.ru »

2017-11-15 17:00

Sony a7R III больше не ест звёзды

Последние беззеркальные камеры Sony имеют невероятные характеристики и очень хорошие отзывы, но астрофотографы жалуются на то, что камеры едят звёзды. Камера ошибочно принимает звёзды за шум и удаляет их из фотографий с длинной выдержкой. photar.ru »

2017-11-15 15:12

Фото: ichip.ru

Тест и обзор фотокамеры Sony Alpha 7R III (a7RIII)

Допустим, с названием Sony Alpha 7R III во время практического тестирования мы могли бы поспорить. В хронологическом порядке сейчас следовало бы ожидать Alpha 7 без буквы R в обозначении. Но это не страшно, ведь и в предыдущей Sony Alpha 7R III модели есть кое-что, что напрашивалось на оптимизацию. ichip.ru »

2017-11-01 17:45

Что вам нужно знать о Sony a7R III

Sony a7R III является последней полнокадровой беззеркальной камерой с высоким разрешением от японской корпорации, которая получила многие усовершенствования, реализованные на флагманской A9. Сам по себе датчик изображения не изменился с прошлого поколения. photar.ru »

2017-10-30 12:47

Ложь или коммерческая уловка? Тест Sony A7R III

Посмотрите на тест динамического диапазона между Sony A7 R III и Sony A7R II. Согласно заявлению, сделанному Sony при анонсе камеры, Sony A7 R III имеет 15 стопов динамического диапазона для фотоснимков и 14 стопов динамического диапазона для видео. photar.ru »

2017-10-29 20:34

Новая Sony a7R III снимает до 10 к/с на матрицу с динамическим диапазоном в 15 ступеней

Специально к выставке Photoplus компания Sony представила свою новую беззеркальную камеру для студийщиков Sony a7R III, которая устанавливает новые стандарты для беззеркалок и претендует на звание одной из самых интересных камер на ближайшее время. photowebexpo.ru »

2017-10-29 09:47

Sony a7R III sample gallery

$(document). ready(function() { SampleGalleryV2({"containerId":"embeddedSampleGallery_9985983572","galleryId":"9985983572","isEmbeddedWidget":true,"standalone":false,"selectedImageIndex":0,"startInCommentsView":false,"isMobile":false}) }); The Sony a7R Mark III is here and we get our hands on one for a few hours while at a press event in New York City. dpreview.com »

2017-10-26 17:00

Sony A7R III Hands-on Photos

Want to see exactly what the new Sony A7R III camera looks like in the flesh? Check out our hands-on gallery of photos of the Sony A7R III camera, including a side-by-side comparison with the previous A7R II model and a look at the internal component parts. photographyblog.com »

2017-10-25 22:30

Video: Sony a7R III first look

Sony took the wraps off its a7R III this morning, and we've been able to spend a little time checking out its standout features. Dan and Richard are on the ground in New York at Sony's launch event, and have put together a quick video showing what's new and cool. dpreview.com »

2017-10-25 22:12

Демонстрация: серийная съёмка и Eye AF на Sony a7R III

Только что появились демонстрационные видео, показывающие работу серийной съёмки и автофокусировки по глазам на только сегодня анонсированной камере Sony a7R III. 10 кадров в секунду с механическим затвором и непрерывной автофокусировкой работают хорошо, как и заявлено производителем. photar.ru »

2017-10-25 21:33

Demo: Sony a7R III's impressive Eye AF

We've been fans of Sony's Eye AF feature for a while now, and since the company claims it's twice as effective in the a7R III it was one of the first things we wanted to check out. In our brief initial demo it does indeed look impressive, which could be a huge benefit for pro photographers. Take a look. dpreview.com »

2017-10-25 19:11

Фото: onfoto.ru

Sony представила беззеркальную полнокадровую камеру a7R III

Sony анонсировала новую 42.4-мегапиксельную полнокадровую беззеркальную камеру a7R Mark III, получившую ряд усовершенствований по сравнению с моделью-предшественницей a7R II. onfoto.ru »

2017-10-25 17:25